Surprise Hamper

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, I’ve managed to successfully move without losing any of my hooks, books, or yarn. Those are the important things, right?

I promised a good post this week, and it looks quite mysterious. I wonder what’s in the box…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Why, it’s a load of presents for a friend and soon-to-be mother! I started off meaning to make a cardigan and maybe a blanket, and it all got a bit out of hand. First off, the cardigan and hat which are a King Cole pattern I bought way back at the beginning of spring when I first heard the news. It’s got a simple bodice and then a pretty shell pattern skirt which is repeated on the hat trim. I made it in acrylic for ease of washing, and chose a light grey colour because the blue/pink divide is tedious. My friends wanted a woodland theme for the baby’s room and little rabbits would fit in nicely. I therefore looked all over for nice buttons for the cardigan and eventually found some on eBay. They are printed with Peter Rabbit, and  there was even a second larger one I could use to trim the hat. Happy days!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I was making up that set, Miss Neriss posted pictures of an adorable rabbit squishy she’d made and I had to look it up. It’d go perfectly with my intended theme! It’s by A Morning Cup of Jo, and the link is on Miss Neriss’s page. Also in the photo are some bits designed by Kat Goldin, of Crochet Camp fame. In fact, you may remember the hand warmers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The crown is from Kat’s book Crochet at Play which is currently available in UK terms, but will be out soon in US terms as well as translations in Dutch, German and Finnish. If I sound like I’m trying to sell it to you, well, I am! It’s got some amazing and creative things in it, and I only wish more of my friends would get on with having children so I have an excuse to make them all! One of the best things is probably the mermaid tail snuggy. Anything which helps keep babies where you put them is good, but with this they can be adorable little kings and queens of the ocean too. My friend really loves it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The point at which I knew this present was getting out of hand was when I was helping my Mum find knitting patterns to go with it. Despite not actually having met my friends, she contributed some clothes for the box as shown below. The little rabbits on the jumper are particularly cute, as she used a soft fluffy yarn for them.

Has anyone else ever got carried away with crocheting (or knitting) for their friends?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Surprise Hamper

    • I’m already plotting what to send him for his birthday next year. I think I’m going to be the crazy auntie who makes him embarrassing clothes! At least he won’t mind until he’s older…

Leave a comment